Requirements for Licensure
Set forth below is a general description of the requirements for licensure as a New Jersey real estate salesperson or broker.To qualify for a real estate salesperson's license, an applicant must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school education or equivalent, complete a 75-hour prelicensure course at a licensed school and pass the license examination. After successfully completing the course and passing the examination, the applicant must apply for a license through a sponsoring real estate broker. In addition, the Commission must be satisfied with the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness, character and integrity.
To qualify for a broker's license, an applicant must have a high school education or equivalent and must successfully complete 150 hours of prelicensure education. Applicants must first complete a 90-hour general real estate course, and then two 30-hour courses on Agency/Ethics and Office Management and related topics. In addition, applicants must have been continually licensed and employed on a full-time basis as a New Jersey Real Estate Salesperson for the three years immediately preceding the application. After completing the three required courses, applicants must submit their completed school certificate and a completed Experience Report for Broker Applicant Form to the Education Qualification Section of the Commission. Following review and approval, the applicant will be mailed a Certificate of Examination Eligibility, which may be used to make a reservation to take the Broker license examination. An applicant must pass the broker license examination and apply for/request the issuance of a license as a broker or broker-salesperson no later than one year after their successful completion of the broker prelicensure education requirements.
If an applicant has ever been convicted of a crime, or is currently on parole or probation their application for a real estate license may be denied. See N.J.S.A. 45:15-9, 45:1512.1 and 2A:168A-1 et seq.
If you are a disabled United States Veteran and a Citizen of New Jersey, it may be possible to secure waivers of the education and experience requirements for licensure. Please contact the Commission's Education Waiver Section at 609-292-7272 for details.
New Jersey does not have reciprocity with any state.
If you have any questions regarding the above requirements and information, please do not hesitate to contact the Commission at 609-292-7272 ext. 50546.
After successfully passing the real estate licensure examination, you will be required to sign a form on which you certify that your screening question answers are accurate and truthful. That form is part of your application for licensure. Providing false information in response to your screening questions is grounds for the denial of your application and for the suspension or revocation of any license issued to you, as well as the imposition of a substantial fine. See N.J.S.A. 45:15-17(n).
If answers to screening questions raise concerns with the Commission about the qualifications of an applicant, the candidate will be given the opportunity to submit a full, written explanation of their response.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REGARDING THE REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSING WILL BE DISCUSSED AT THE FIRST CLASS SESSION.